Wrong turn?


I’ve been on this path for as long as I can remember. I have memorized all the bumps and potholes. Day or night, I can walk through without hitting my toe on a rock. And now you say I made a wrong turn?

I am especially fond of that evergreen stop next to our rock. Its simply heavenly. The soft grass on my feet every time I dance to those tunes you hum; its perfect. Eiffel tower doesn’t come close to the serenity of this surrounding. The soft sound of the river water, just a few centimeters away blesses my soul. And that rock, it bears my name in all types of fonts I am able to create. The latest carving of my name is followed by a heart shape. This is where you taught me self love and ever since its been the pillar of my success.

So tell me, what wrong turn did I make? Where? Is it the turn to the left just before our stop? I don’t think so. This turn leads to the clearing where cows graze everyday. You remember what we love about this place? The ease with which we can see the stars on a clear night. No telescopes, just your voice whispering into my ear and your finger pointing at the beautiful moon. Have you forgotten those moments? I haven’t. This place is where you taught me to see past what my human eye sees and appreciate the beauty in everything.

Help me understand where the ‘Wrong Turn’ sign is along this path. The only sign along this path says, ‘Keep Off the Forest.’ Despite this, we still pass through the small openings on the fence and run into the depth of the forest. The monkeys love our company. The paths in this forest; we created them with our muddy shoes. We use them every time and we never get lost. You remember the mango tree somewhere in there? Seasonal as it is, we always climb and every time you hold me and make sure I get to the top. I never told you but this is where you taught me to always fight my way to the top and never settle on average. How can this be the wrong turn?

I’ve fallen but I always rise. I’ve experienced dark nights with no stars but the sun always rises at day break. So where did I make a wrong turn?

2 thoughts on “Wrong turn?

Leave a Reply

